Filing a Wage and Hour Claim - Missouri
Does Missouri have state overtime laws that are different from federal law?
Under Missouri law, employers must pay employees at a rate of at least one and one-half the employee's regular hourly wage for working more than forty hours in one week. This is the same rate as federal overtime laws mandate.
Some employees are exempt from the overtime requirement. Exempt employees include those engaged in administrative, professional, executive, agricultural, motor carrier, or outsides sales activities.
Does Missouri have a minimum wage that is different from federal law?
The current minimum wage in Missouri is $8.60 per hour, which is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. Employers can use tips and gratuities to reduce the minimum wage required to $4.30 per hour.
Generally, employers can use other costs of employment to decrease the minimum wage required. Employers can credit tips and gratuities towards up to 50% of the minimum wage. Additionally, employers can decrease the minimum wage by compensation received in the form of goods and services such as meals and lodging.
After approval of the director of the Division of Labor Standards and a public hearing, employers can pay the following employees at a rate below the minimum wage:
- Workers whose earning capacity is impaired by physical or mental deficiencies
- Learners and apprentices
Do any cities or counties in Missouri have a minimum wage that is different from state or federal law?
No city or county in Missouri has a minimum wage higher than Missouri’s minimum wage of $8.60 per hour. In 2017, the state passed a law that prevents cities from implementing minimum wages that are higher than the state’s.
Does Missouri have meal and rest break requirements, unlike federal law?
Missouri does not have any meal or rest break requirements.
How do I file a wage/hour or labor standards claim in Missouri?
What are my time deadlines?
If you have a wage/hour claim, do not delay in contacting an attorney to file a private lawsuit. There are strict time limits in which wage claims must be filed. In order to recover under state law in Missouri, you must file a lawsuit within two years from the date that the claim arose. As you might have other legal claims with shorter deadlines, do not wait to file your claim until your time limit is close to expiring.
How can I or my attorney pursue a claim in court in Missouri?
In Missouri, employees can file a private lawsuit to recover unpaid wages plus reasonable attorney's fees and costs.
Division of Labor Standards
3315 West Truman Boulevard, Room 205
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0449
Phone: (573) 751-3403
Fax: (573) 751-3721
© 2023 Workplace Fairness